DIY: Vanilla Extract

25 Dec

Vanilla Extract is the double-edged sword of baking – expensive and essential. Fortunately, it’s incredibly easy to make yourself. All you need is about 2-3 vanilla beans and 6-8oz of vodka. Literally all you do is split the beans down the center, put them in a  6oz jar, pour vodka in, place it in a cool, dark place (like a standard cabinet) and wait about 2-3 months. You shake it every once in a while but that’s IT. I decided to make a batch to give a gift this year and it came out looking super cute in the mason jar with one of my labels.  If you bake a lot, making your own vanilla extract is extremely economical. I’ve found that local grocery stores have the best deals on the beans in their bulk bin departments. Happy extracting :)

3 Responses to “DIY: Vanilla Extract”

  1. Janis December 26, 2011 at 6:42 AM #

    I too have just started making my own vanilla extract as my 2 oz bottle of pure vanilla extract is running low. I was able to make 3 — 4 oz jars. I heated the vodka a little bit as I’ve read that it makes extracting a lot quicker (like it’ll be ready in a few weeks instead of a few months). It’s now been a week and I’ve got varying results with each bottle. One still smells strongly of alcohol and the other one has a more pronounced vanilla smell. Wonder what happened. They all have 3 vanilla pods each. I also just ordered more vanilla beans online as I want to make this in bulk and give my baking friends their own supply even after Christmas!

    Can’t wait to see your results too!

  2. BeccaBakes December 26, 2011 at 8:09 AM #

    Hi Janis!

    I never heard of the heating the vodka trick. My jars are only a little over a month done and still smell strongly of vodka. I’ll give the update in a couple more months :) If they don’t come out right I am definitely trying that.

  3. Erin @ The Spiffy Cookie December 28, 2011 at 1:26 PM #

    I love making vanilla at home! Even though it’s not much cheaper than buying it, you can replenish it if you keep the beans in there.

Leave a Reply

