Orange Ginger Sugar Cookies

22 Aug

When I used to work at a cupcakery, one of the toppings we had was candied ginger. It was the first time I was ever really exposed to the idea of candy-ing something. It was such a bizarre concept to me to take something like fresh ginger root, which is clearly not sweet and extremely strong and spicy, and making it into somewhat of a confection. I never got into it while I was working there but the turning point in my ginger saga was a couple weeks ago in San Fransisco when I was on my food tour and went to Dynamo Donuts. As the post mentions, we got there almost at closing so there was only one kind of donut left – orange-ginger. I remember I took one bite and said to my Aunt “dare I say this is the best donut I’ve ever had?” Yeah. You heard me Krispy Kreme; you had nothing on this donut. One would expect the last donut of the day to already be going stale but it was still moist and filled with chunks of crystallized ginger and dripping with an orange and ginger scented glaze. I wish I could relive this donut. Instead, I chose to live vicariously through this flavor and create my own spin of it as a cookie. It is another original recipe, so enjoy!

 

Orange Ginger Sugar Cookies
Original Recipe

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½  teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon orange extract
  • zest of 1 large orange
  • 1 tbsp fresh squeezed orange juice
  • ½ cup candied ginger, chopped (to the size of chocolate chips-ish?)
  • 1/2 cup turbinado sugar, for rolling

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
-In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder, ginger, and salt. Set aside.
-Beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and fluffy
-Beat in egg, vanilla extract, orange extract,orange zest, and orange juice
-Gradually blend the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients
-Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and roll in sugar. Place on lined cookie sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart.
-Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until lightly browned on edges, they will set.
-Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

Leave a Reply

