International Potluck!

22 Aug

Apparently I have an extremely multicultural group of friends. Last night was basically a united nations banquet meeting in my new house. We decided to host and goodbye summer/housewarming potluck  and the requirement was to bring a dish of your nationality or ethnicity! I was so thrilled to see everyone get so into it!! It is inspiring to me to see people get so excited about their roots and use food as a medium to express that. The party turned out really fun and everyone seemed to be having a great time! Below are some of the dishes featured. I tried to get a picture of everyone’s before it got dark but totally got distracted. There are a bunch of pictures here but it probably is not even HALF of what was brought. Toward the end of the night everyone basically sat together in a collective food comatose state. It was nice.

Guava & Cheese Pastries - CUBA - Lexi

Buttermilk Biscuits - Southern Cooking - Tatum

Cinnamon Raisin Challah Bread - Jewish - Becca

Ground Turkey & Raisin Empenadas - Filipino - Miko

Cheese & Onion Empenada - Argentina - Michelle

Pork or Eggplant Slider (Homemade Bun & Pickles!!) - Germany - Tim

Brucetta - Italy - Adam

Pita Bread & Hummus - Israeli - David

Cous Cous - Israeli - Max

Fommes de Terre au Gratin - French - Chelsea

Potica - Slovania - Cory

Peach Crisp - Southern Cooking - Callie

OBLIGATORY: It’s a Small World (After All)

This is my 100th post!!!!

2 Responses to “International Potluck!”

  1. Erin August 22, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

    Congrats on your 100th post!! And btw, as a slovenian I have to be biased and say that potica looks amazing! It’s one of the many things I absolutely love having my dad or grandma make for me. I’ve only made it once myself (with my dad’s help) and although worth the work I’m not sure I could do it alone and stay sane.

  2. BeccaBakes August 22, 2011 at 10:47 PM #

    I passed your comment along to Cory and he was so happy to hear there were other slovenians reading my blog and that you liked his potica! He said it was the hardest thing he ever made. But it came out so delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

