California Cookies

14 Aug

Some people bring back snow globes from their travels. Some bring back neon splattered t-shirts that say “Spring Break 2011”. I bring back such items as goat cheese, hazelnut agave nectar, and za’tar spice. I know, I know.. I would. After arriving back in sunny South Florida, I surveyed my West Coast haul of items. I noted I had acquired giant California raisins and California almonds from this incredible super market called the Berkley Bowl (could have literally spent hours there.) and also a small jar of local San Fransisco honey from the Ferry Plaza Farmer’s Market. It was then I thought “…hey. this would all make a delicious cookie.” In closing, here is that cookie.

California Cookies
Original Recipe

1/2 cup butter, softened
2/3 cup light brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 of nutmeg
1/4 tsp. salt
1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
3/4 cup of CA giant raisins, halved
1/2 cup CA Almonds, roughly chopped
1 tbsp CA honey
*all CA ingredients can be substituted for standard brand

Preheat oven to 350°F.
In a small bowl add the raisins and cover with water. Let them sit for five minutes. Drain and dry, then cut in halves.
In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, honey, egg and vanilla until smooth
In another small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.
Add the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar mixture.
Gently fold in the oats, raisins, and almonds
Spoon tbsp sized balls on to a cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 min.
The edges will be golden brown but the center will still look a little underdone
Let them sit on the baking sheet for a few minutes before transferring them to cooling rack so they can set.

I dedicate these cookies to my aunt for showing me the best time in SF!!

 

One Response to “California Cookies”

  1. Erin August 14, 2011 at 11:58 PM #

    I know I can use general store-stocked items, but I want an excuse to go to CA O:-). Great cookies!

Leave a Reply

