Chocolate Mint Brownies

2 Jun

So there I was.  Sitting on the couch bored on a Wednesday night, browsing food websites and going through my saved recipes when the thought came to me — “Screw it, I’m making brownies.” I took stock of my chocolate chip inventory (As it turns out, I could probably feed a small army solely with chocolate chips) and found I still have half a bag of Andes mint baking chips which are pretty rare in the supermarket except during the holidays. So I decided to swiftly turn them into Chocolate Mint Brownies – a classic in my eyes. Currently patting myself on the back and eating brownie batter out of the bowl. Well done Becca, well done.

Chocolate Mint Brownies
From: The Curvy Carrot

For the brownies:

3/4 cup (1 and 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted
1 and 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup Dutch-processed cocoa
3 large eggs
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon peppermint extract
Andes Mint baking chips for topping

For the glaze:
3 cups confectioners’ sugar
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
3 tablespoons half and half
1/8 teaspoon peppermint extract

For the Brownies: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
-Spray mini muffin pans with cooking spray or grease a 9×13 pan
-In a large bowl combine the melted butter, sugar, and salt.
-On low speed, add the cocoa powder, mixing until smooth.
-Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
-Still on low speed, add the flour and baking powder.
-Add the peppermint extract and mix until combined.
-Pour the batter into muffin tins or pan
-Bake the brownies until toothpick comes out clean, about 15 for mini muffins, about 25 minutes for pan.
-Remove the brownies from the oven and let cool to room temperature.
For the glaze: mix the melted butter, powdered sugar, half and half, and peppermint extract until smooth.
-Spread the glaze evenly over the cooled brownies.
-Top with Andes mint baking chips

Note: I added a drop of green food coloring for mint effect to the glaze and I also only made a half batch of these. Tip: when using the mini muffin pan you usually end up with 10,000 of anything for a full batch. A half batch of these gave me about 18 mini brownies which was definitely enough.

Leave a Reply

