Sup Purim? Apricot and Cherry Hamantashen

20 Mar

Happy Purim Ya’ll! We jewin it real big. Hamantashen are one of my favorite kinds of cookies, when I see them – I gotta have them. I made these for my brother’s birthday which was today and the apricot filling was his request for his favorite type. My favorite type is cherry which is the other variety. This is strange because I HATE cherry flavored anything else. Seriously, it tastes like cough medicine. But for some reason I love cherry hamantashen and I thoroughly enjoyed eating these ones.

Hamantashen
Adapted from: Cupcake Project

3 cups flour (you might need more depending on how sticky the dough is)
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup butter (1.5 sticks), room temperature
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Your choice of filling (jam, jelly, preserves, chocolate chips, nuts, etc.)
Circular cookie cutter or glass to make dough circles

-In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.
-With an electric mixer, add butter and eggs, and mix until dough can be pressed together and stay in a ball
-Roll out dough and form hamantashen (see visual below)
-Bake on a cookie sheet for 12min at 400 F.


Cherry & Apricot Hamantashen :)

Leave a Reply

