Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes

12 Jan

This was my FIRST experience with vegan baking! I always avoided it when I worked at the cupcakery because I felt I didn’t know enough about it to do it correctly. Turns out, vegan baking is just as easy as regular baking! These cupcakes were for my vegan friend’s birthday. I strongly believe that everyone deserves cake on their birthday so I made these for him :)

Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes (Makes 12 Cupcakes)
Adapted From: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World

Cupcakes
1 Cup Soymilk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup non-hydrogenated margarine (Used Earth Balance)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 and 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract

Frosting:
1/4 Cup Soy Milk
1/2 Cup Margarine (Earth Balance)
3 Cups Confectioners Sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla

For Cupcakes:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line muffin pan with cupcake liners
-Wisk soymilk and apple cider vinegar in a measuring cup and set aside to wait for it to get curdled (I hate that word.)
-Sift the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl
-In another large bowl, cream margarine and sugar until light and fluffy
-Add vanilla
-Alternate adding soymilk mixture and flour mixture to the margarine mixture
-Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 of the way and bake for 20-22 minutes
-Cool completely before frosting

For Frosting:
-cream together margarine and soy milk
-add 1/2 of the confectioners sugar and mix until smooth
-add the vanilla and other 1/2 of confectioners sugar and mix until smooth

Notes: The margarine flavor was kind of overwhelming (not in a bad way) but I think the next time I made vegan cupcakes I would try the canola oil method instead to compare. The vanilla flavor really came through though. Vanilla vegan cupcakes are more difficult than chocolate vegan cupcakes because you are really only relying on the vanilla extract whereas with chocolate the cocoa powder can really become a strong flavor. Also the frosting was more of a hybrid between a glaze and a frosting because I realized I forgot to buy vegan shortening. Next time I would either use the shortening recipe to achieve more of a fluffy buttercream texture or add some cornstarch to this recipe to keep it from running. Overall though I was very pleased with my first attempt and I think the birthday boy was too so that’s really all that matters! :) 

Leave a Reply

