S’mores Cookies

7 Jan

These are more affectionately known to me as fractured-limb-smores cookies. They were made for my friend who got a stress fracture in his back while training for the decathlon. On the same day, my other friend fractured her foot while training for the high jump and I figured she could use some too. My coach conned me into making these for her (“no you have to agree to the favor before I tell you what it is.”) But I’m really glad I did since they have been on my list of things to bake for a long, long, time. Sugar can’t fix stress fractures but I’m hoping it will make pain go away temporarily.

s'mores cookies

S’mores Cookies
Adapted from: Baked Perfection
 

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 dash of cinnamon
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups miniature chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups mini marshmallows
2 Hershey bars, chopped

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees
-In a medium sized bowl, combine the butter and sugars until fluffy.
-Mix in egg and vanilla until combined.
-In a small bowl, wisk the flour, graham crackers, salt, and baking soda
-Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients to form the dough
-Stir in the chocolate chips.
-Drop by rounded 1/2 tablespoon onto cookie sheet.
-Bake for 8 minutes, and remove from the oven.
-Push 3 to 4 marshmallows and a few pieces of a hershey’s bar into each cookie.
-Return to the oven and bake an additional 2-3 minutes until fully cooked.
-Cool cookies on a wire rack.

NOTE: ALWAYS halve cookie recipes if you don’t want 500 billion-ish cookies. This still made a ton!! The original recipe calls for a tablespoon amount of dough but I did a 1/2 tablespoon and the cookies were the perfect size. Also, I didn’t have Hershey on hand, so I used left over gelt. Happy Hannukah, oy!

Leave a Reply

