Starbucks Gingerbread Loaf

16 Dec

So this was the first installment of my three part bored in Gainesville with nothing to do but bake series. While being crammed in the library for 2 days straight studying for finals, the Starbucks gingerbread loaf wonderfully entered my life. I had to try it for myself — here we go! (unfortunately I didn’t take a picture of my own so I’m cheating and posting the actual Starbucks loaf)

Starbucks Gingerbread Loaf
adapted from: Free Starbucks Secret Recipes

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cloves
2 1/4 teaspoons ginger
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 and 1/4 cup applesauce
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 can cream cheese frosting

-Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a loaf pan
-In a medium bowl, mix together flour, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and salt. Then set aside.
-In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
-Mix baking soda into applesauce and stir into creamed butter mixture.
-Add flour mixture. Mix until smooth.
-Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
-Bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into center of cake comes out clean.

Note: When I made this, I had probably 3/4 cup applesauce left so I substituted a couple tablespoons of oil for the missing moisture. However, the cake came out pretty dry. So I put in the recipe not only the full 1 cup of applesauce that it calls for but 1/4 cup more. Maybe even add a bit of honey instead of the 1/4 extra cup. Other than that, it had the perfect amount of spice and the cream cheese frosting was a great compliment. I left out the orange extract and candied orange cause it’s gross.

Leave a Reply

