Pumpkin Bread Pudding

3 May

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, pumpkin flavored baked goods can be enjoyed any time of the year – not just the fall! The last time I made this pumpkin bread pudding was as dessert for my Thanksgiving meal and it was a huge hit! A couple of weeks ago, I came into ownership of a crusty white baguette from Uppercrust and had to brainstorm what to do with it. After finding a can of pumpkin hiding behind cans of chicken soup and black beans in my pantry, I knew exactly how I would bring the two together. The first time I made this bread pudding, I included a bourbon-caramel sauce, but this time left it out. The sauce was not crucial but definitely added another dimension of flavor and moistness to the dessert. I like bread pudding because each chunky cube of flavor-soaked bread is rationed as one bite making it easy to share among friends. I would be interested in trying a chocolate bread pudding or even one made with croissants instead of baguette cubes.

pumpkin bread pudding, dessert, bread pudding

Pumpkin Bread Pudding
Adapted from: Smitten Kitchen

1 cup low-fat milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
3/4 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs plus 1 yolk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves
5 cups cubed (1-inch) day-old baguette
3/4 stick unsalted butter, melted

Instructions:
-Preheat oven to  350°F
-While oven is preheating, melt butter in bottom of a 8-inch square baking dish.
-Once it is melted, take it out of the oven and toss bread cubes with butter, coating thoroughly.
-In a separate bowl, whisk together all the remaining ingredients.
-Pour them over buttered bread cubes in baking dish, stirring to make sure all pieces are evenly coated.
-Bake until custard is set, 25 to 30 minutes
-Serve warm! (great with vanilla ice cream!)

One Response to “Pumpkin Bread Pudding”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Becca Bakes » Chocolate Nutella Bread Pudding - June 19, 2012

    [...] often served with some sort of sauce, which may or may not be alcoholic. In the past, I have made a pumpkin bread pudding with a rum sauce, but this time I knew my main ingredient had to be [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

