Pieces of Reese’s Cookies

13 Jan

By now I think my readers could guess that I love the city I live in. I wholeheartedly believe in the spirit of Gainesville and embrace everything it has to offer. Because of this, I make it my mission to lead any visitor to see this city through my eyes and try to get them to have as good a time as possible. This was the case on this unlucky Friday the 13th when my friend Chelsey make the trek all the way from her home in South Florida to visit. She demanded one thing – we bake.

I had printed another recipe but realized that I was missing an ingredient at the last minute and thus had to create this cookie on the fly based on what I had in my stockpile of supplies. The mini Reese’s were chosen from the start and we then debated between sugar, chocolate chip, and peanut butter base for the cookie. We went with a chocolate chip cookie base as to not overwhelm the eater with peanut butter in that stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth-can’t-even-chew way. I think we made the right decision because the brown sugar in the dough allowed the peanut butter-chocolate salty-sweet taste to come through. It’s fun baking with friends, but it’s even better enjoying the sweets of your labor with people you care about. Thanks for coming to bake with me Chelsey! I hope you have a great trip in Gainesville and come back soon (to bake with me again)!


photo credit/eating credit/baking cheerleader credit: Dana Burke

Pieces of Reese’s Cookies
Original Recipe: Becca Goldring

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 +1/4  cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup Reese’s Peanut Butter Chips
  • 15-20 Mini Reese’s Cups, cut in half (easy to do this when frozen)

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Cream together the butter, white sugar, and brown sugar until smooth.
  • Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Dissolve baking soda in hot water.
  • Add to batter along with salt.
  • Stir in flour and gently fold in chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, and mini Reese’s Cups
  • Drop by large spoonfuls onto ungreased pans.
  • Bake for about 10-12 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are nicely browned.
  • Makes 46 ( 1 oz) cookies (small)

 

3 Responses to “Pieces of Reese’s Cookies”

  1. IamSimplyTia January 14, 2012 at 9:21 PM #

    Next time I get some Reese’s I’m gonna try these. I bet they’re delicious! Thanks for sharing!

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. BeccaBakes January 15, 2012 at 12:46 PM #

    Thanks Tia! When you make them take a picture and post it on facebook.com/beccabakesfl so I can put it on the food fans page!

  3. R Taylor August 21, 2012 at 9:38 AM #

    Baking is surely a fun activity to do with a good friend. And your Reese’s Cookies recipe is definitely a must try.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

