Thanksgiving in Gainesville

25 Nov

Yesterday I came to the undeniable conclusion that Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. As a kid I was always partial to Halloween, but I have since grown out of demanding free Kit Kat Bars and Reese’s Cups from total strangers.More recently,  I loved Christmas the most. The radio station was tuned firmly on holiday jams from Black Friday right up until we were singing Happy Birthday to Jesus. However, being Jewish this holiday was never fully mine.

Thanksgiving encompasses everything I love about a holiday. My fall attitude of “everything pumpkin get in my mouth immediately” is fully welcomed. I actually get excused from school and work to COOK all day long. Yes that’s right, from now until the rest of my life I vow to cook as many Thanksgiving meals as I possibly can. For me, there’s no better way to show my family I’m thankful for them than to have them enjoy a carefully planned, made from scratch, and delicious meal. The secret ingredient really is love.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole topped with Gooey Marshmallows
Pumpkin-Sage Cornbread Stuffing
Roasted Green Beans, sautéed mushrooms, caramelized onions, toasted garlic and slivered almonds
Turkey Breast with Mom’s Stuffing and homemade cranberry-orange sauce

Pumpkin-Sage Cornbread Stuffing


Sweet Potato Casserole


Spiced Apple & Pear Pie

One Response to “Thanksgiving in Gainesville”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Becca Bakes » Pumpkin Bread Pudding - June 14, 2012

    [...] – not just the fall! The last time I made this pumpkin bread pudding was as dessert for my Thanksgiving meal and it was a huge hit! A couple of weeks ago, I came into ownership of a crusty white baguette from [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

