Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Pancakes

22 Jun

Whenever I have a morning where I don’t really have to be anywhere at any particular time I try to make a breakfast that’s a little bit more complicated. Even if it’s just making scrambled eggs, it still requires the extra effort not included with throwing a bowl of oatmeal in the microwave. This morning I thought I would combine two of my favorite things, sweet potato and words with cake in them. These pancakes are actually relatively healthy. They are made with a whole medium sweet potato, which is low in fat and high in vitamin A, fiber, vitamin C, and potassium. I used whole wheat flour and I also subbed the milk out for almond milk. They came out so fluffy which is exactly how I like my pancakes! I was worried the whole wheat flour was going to make them flat and dense but it actually did quite the opposite. I loved these and I had a ton of extra batter which, according to the internet, is good for the next 3 days so it looks like I’m set on breakfast for the rest of the week!

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Pancakes
Adapted From: Anchor Mommy

1 3/4 cup unbleached white whole wheat flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1 3/4 cup almond milk
2 eggs, beaten
1 medium sweet potato, cooked and mashed
1 + 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
3 tablespoons canola oil

-Combine dry ingredients
-Combine wet ingredients
-Mix dry into wet ingredients
-Cook pancakes on a medium-high skillet until golden brown, they will cook fast!
-Serve warm with powdered sugar and syrup

One Response to “Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Pancakes”

  1. Jordan December 21, 2013 at 2:25 AM #

    These look fantastic, and are definitely going on my to-try list. My favorite breakfast of all time is sweet potato pancakes with cinnamon syrup from the Pancake Pantry in Gatlinburg, TN. Give this cinnamon syrup recipe a try next time you make these! http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cinnamon-syrup/detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

